Menu

News


Vacant Position: Project and sales engineer, Valparaiso, Indiana
For our subsidiary in Valparaiso Indiana, we are looking for a project and sales engineer who...


New seminars in February 2018 in Valparaiso, Indiana
In February, we offer the following seminars at our location in Valparaiso, Indiana: ...

Overview

Microscopy
Microscopy

Material inspection comprises especially: 

  • Chemical analysis
  • Hardness measurement (HRC, HRB, HV etc.)
  • Micro hardness measurement
  • Metallography

 


Metallography

Conspicuous near surface structure of a failed bearing
Conspicuous near surface structure of a failed bearing

Metallography allows not only for detection of conspicuities in microstructure but also for quantitaive assessment. In case of materials for gears or bearings, this applies especially to:

  • Grain size determination
  • Measurement of layer thickess, both of coatings and near surface layers produced by heat treatment
  • Evaluation of impurities according to various standards
  • Assessment of homogeneousity, especially carbide distribtion in case of chromium steels

Apart from that, metallography supports failure analysis by displaying and evaluation of crack networks. Furthermore, it allows for identification of conspicuities in microstructure or large inclusions close to cracks.

Grain size determination

Former austenite grain boundaries in bainite structure
Former austenite grain boundaries in bainite structure

Grain size is especially relevant for gear marials. DIN 3990 requires grain size numbers according to different material quality levels. Typically, grain size is determined on raw material prior to heat treatment where on ferrite or austenite structure. Later assessment of heat treated parts can be possible too on bainite structure, at least with some restictrions.

Evaluation of impurities

Non-metallic inclusions
Non-metallic inclusions

Non-metallic inclusions in steel materials can be assessed according to various standards. For gears, the K-factor method according to DIN 50602 is very common, for bearings, Jernkontored standard series and ISO 4967 are most relevant.

Assessment of carbide distribution

Carbide segregation
Carbide segregation

Chromium steels typically form chromium carbide which should appear as fine globes. A homogeneous distribution leads to high material strength while local accumulations of carbides might be signifcant weak points. Therefore, it is essential to restrict admissible non-uniformity and to assess it, e. g. following ISO 5949.

 


Hardness measurement

Rockwell-C
Rockwell-C

For many machine elements such as gears and bearings, material hardness is highly important for endurance in operation. For hardness measurement, various methods are available. Methods according to Rockwell can be used on parts with paralell faces where no specimen preparation is necessary. In case of embedded and polished specimens, however, especially Vickers method is used.


Micro-hardness measurment

Hardness distribution of a gear
Hardness distribution of a gear

Micro-hardness measurement is very useful for inspection of near-surface hardened parts like e. g. case-hardened gears. Then, hardness is measured at very small testing loads which allows for measuring at many points with a high resolution leading to quantification of hardness distribution by which especially hardening depth can be determined.


Chemical analysis

Chemichal composition of a steel specimen
Chemichal composition of a steel specimen

Chemical composition of material specimens is measured by arc-spectrometry. By such testing results, it can be verified whether specimens fulfill the expections according to technical specifications. Especially in case of failure analysis, one frequently has to clarifiy whether e. g. substandard material might have been used instead of required highly alloyed steel.

Menu

Aktuell


Freie Stelle: Project and sales engineer, Valparaiso, Indiana
For our subsidiary in Valparaiso Indiana, we are looking for a project and sales engineer who...


Seminare in Valparaiso, Indiana (USA) für Februar 2018
Im Februar bieten wir Ihnen folgende Seminare über Wälzlager und Getriebe an:...

Überblick

Mikroskopie
Mikroskopie

Zur Werkstoffprüfung gehören vor allem: 

  • Metallographie
  • Härtemessung (HRC, HRB, HV etc.)
  • Mikrohärtemessung
  • Bestimmung der chemischen Zusammensetzung 

Metallographie

Auffälliges Randgefüge in einem schadhaften Wälzlager
Auffälliges Randgefüge in einem schadhaften Wälzlager

Mit Hilfe der Metallographie können nicht nur Auffälligkeiten im Gefüge detektiert, sondern auch quantitative Bewertungen vorgenommen werden. Bei Werkstoffen von Zahnrädern und Wälzlagern handelt es sich dabei insbesondere um:

  • Korngrößenbestimmung
  • Messungen von Schichtdicken, sowohl von Beschichtungen als auch von durch Wärmebehandlung erzeugten Randschichten
  • Bestimmung des Reinheitsgrades nach unterschiedlichen Normen
  • Beschreibung der Homogenität, insbesondere der Verteilung von Carbiden in chromhaltigen Stählen

Darüber hinaus dient die Metallographie zur Schadenskunde. So können etwa Rissnetzwerke dargestellt und beurteilt werden, ferner besteht die Möglichkeite, gezielt zu prüfen, ob es in der Nähe von Rissen Gefügeauffälligkeiten oder etwa große Einschlüsse gibt.

Korngrößenbestimmung

Ehemalige Austenitkorngrenzen in bainitischem Gefüge
Ehemalige Austenitkorngrenzen in bainitischem Gefüge

Die Korngrößen sind insbesondere für Zahnradwerkstoffe von Bedeutung, demnach sind in DIN 3990 unterschiedliche Kennzahlen in Abhängigkeit von der Werkstoffgüte als Anforderung definitiert. Typischerweise werden Korngrenzen an Rohmaterial vor der Wärmebehandlung in ferritischem oder austenitischem Gefüge bestimmt, die nachträgliche Bestimmung an bainitischem Gefüge ist allerdings, wenn auch mit Einschränkungen, möglich.

Bestimmung des Reinheitsgrades

Nichtmetallische Einschlüsse
Nichtmetallische Einschlüsse

Die nichtmetallischen Einschlüsse in Stahlwerkstoffen können nach unterschiedlichen Normen bewertet werden. Für Zahnräder wird in der Regel die K-Wert-Methode nach DIN 50602 verwendet, für Wälzlager werden meistens die Jernkontoret-Richtreihen oder ISO 4967 herangezogen.

Bewertung der Carbidverteilung

Carbidseigerungen
Carbidseigerungen

Chromhaltige Stähle bilden typischerweise Chromcarbid, welches globular eingeformt und fein verteilt sein sollte. Eine homogene Verteilung bewirkt eine hohe Festigkeit, lokale Carbidanhäufungen stellen jedoch empfindliche Schwachstellen dar, weshalb für hochbelastete Bauteile wie etwa Wälzlager die zulässige Inhomogenität zu begrenzen und z. B. nach ISO 5949 zu beurteilen ist.


Härteprüfung

Rockwell-C
Rockwell-C

Bei vielen Maschinenelementen wie etwa Zahnrädern und Wälzlagern ist die Härte des verwendeten Stahls von besonderer Bedeutung für die Haltbarkeit im Betrieb. Um die Härte zu messen, stehen verschiedene Methoden zur Verfügung. Die Verfahren nach Rockwell werden an Bauteilen mit planparallelen Stirnflächen eingesetzt, da hier keine weitere Probenvorbereitung erforderlich ist. An eingebetteten und geschliffenen Proben wird die Härte hingegen meistens nach Vickers gemessen.  


Mikrohärteprüfung

Härteverlauf eines Zahnrades
Härteverlauf eines Zahnrades

Die Methode der Mikrohärteprüfung wird vor allem bei randschichtgehärteten Bauteilen wie z. B. Zahnrädern angewendet. Dabei wird an vielen Stellen mit sehr kleinen Prüfkräften gemessen, um mit hoher Auflösung den Härteverlauf bzw. die Einhärtetiefe zu bestimmen. 


Chemische Analyse

Chemische Zusammensetzung einer Stahlprobe
Chemische Zusammensetzung einer Stahlprobe

Die chemische Zusammensetzung von Werkstoffproben wird mittels Funkenspektrometrie ermittelt. Anhand der Ergebnisse kann festgestellt werden, ob die untersuchten Proben den Erwartungen entsprechen. Gerade im Zusammenhang von Schadensuntersuchungen ist häufig zu klären, ob z. B. anstelle von hochlegierten Stählen minderwertige Werkstoffe verwendet wurden.